What are the qualifying rules for the World Cup?

1/14/2022 10:21:35 AM

What are the qualifying rules for the World Cup?

The 2022 World Cup qualifiers are based on the qualifying rules for all continents. The European region has only one round of group matches and one round of play-offs; Africa, Asia, and Oceania all go through 3 rounds of competitions, and the direct promotion places are determined according to the ranking, and 0.5 places are required to participate. Intercontinental play-offs; South America has only 1 round of competitions and 1 round of intercontinental play-offs; Central, North America and Caribbean qualifiers are divided into 5 rounds. The World Cup qualifiers in each continent are only different rounds, and other rules are not much different. .

Europe (54→13)

The 54 teams are divided into 9 groups according to their grades, with 6 teams in each group, and the first place in each group will directly qualify for the World Cup. Among the second places in the 9 groups, the top 8 teams will go to the play-offs. The 8 teams will be divided into 4 groups to compete in two rounds of home and away matches, resulting in the final 4 line-up teams.

Africa (53→5)

53 teams are divided into three rounds, and the first of the last five groups will directly qualify

Asia (46→4.5)

The 46 teams will be divided into three rounds. The top two teams in the last two groups will advance directly. The third place in the two groups will have two rounds of play-offs at home and away to decide a team to participate in the intercontinental play-offs.

Oceania (11→0.5)

11 teams are divided into three rounds, and one team will be selected to participate in the intercontinental playoffs.

South America (10→4.5)

The 10 teams will play two rounds at home and away, and the top 4 will advance directly. The 5th will play a two-round play-off with the top team in Oceania to decide a World Cup seat.

Central America and the Caribbean (35→3.5)

After 5 rounds of 35 teams, the top 3 teams will advance directly, and the 4th place will play two rounds of playoffs with the teams qualified for the Asian Intercontinental Playoffs to determine a World Cup seat.